top of page

Agar is used to thicken foods just like cornstarch or arrowroot. Because it is obtained from a red algae, it is suitable for people who follow vegan or gluten-free diets. In fact, agar is frequently referred to as “vegetarian gelatin.” In Japan, where it is known as kanten, agar is used to make a red bean paste and various gelatinous desserts.

 

Agar has the advantage over gelatin in that it does not require refrigeration to set—it can set at room temperature.

Agar Agar Powder, 1/4 lb

$45.99Price
  • Obtained from red algae, agar agar is a vegetable-based source of protein and an alternative to animal-derived gelatin. Perfect for vegan and dairy-free diets, use agar agar to thicken puddings, sauces and other foods.

bottom of page